Chicago Blackhawks – soundtrack for a team


Chicago, IL — You can now tell we are neck-deep in the hockey offseason and extreme boredom has set in.  I am now reduced to such trivial things as this.   Since my mind is always on hockey or football and most notably on my favorite Chicago teams.  It dawned on me that our Chicago Blackhawks have an entire soundtrack based on their players.  See if you agree or if you have a better song selection for our team.

Patrick Kane – Rock you like a hurricane by the Scorpions – lyrics by Klaus Meine
“The night is calling
I have to go
The wolf is hungry
He runs the show
He’s licking his lips
He’s ready to win
On the hunt tonight
For love at first sting

Here I am, rocked you like a hurricane
Here I am, rocked you like a hurricane
Here I am, rocked you like a hurricane
Here I am, rocked you like a hurricane
(Rocked you like a hurricane)”

I think this song fits so well because not only is Kane’s name in the song so is his nature which is larger than life.  Now I think we all have heard various stories about Mr. Patrick Kane’s cravings for the night life and lord knows Patrick likes to have a good time and party but he also likes to make a party with a puck as well & he’s pretty damn good at it to boot.  When he hits the ice he roams it like a hungry beast with an insatiable scoring appetite that does not get quenched until the puck is in the back of the oppositions net.  So Patrick keep up your partying ways both on and off the ice and rock us like the hurricane you are.

Jonathan Toews – Nobody does it better – Carly Simone – lyrics by Carole Bayer Sager

“There’s some kind of magic inside you
That keeps me from runnin’
But just keep it comin’
How’d you learn to do the things you do?

Oh, and nobody does it better
Makes me feel sad for the rest
Nobody does it half as good as you
Baby, baby, darlin’, you’re the best

Baby you’re the best
Darlin’, you’re the best
Baby you’re the best”

There is no explanations needed on this one.  Every Blackhawks fan knows it is the will & the heart of Johnny Toews that powers this team to excellence.  There is no quit in him and his drive makes him the best at a very young age & he has those intense smoldering brown eyes that just melts the girls like James Bond so it’s only fitting he should have a James Bond soundtrack song fit this young captain.  Mr. Toews does indeed have some magic inside and should be demonstrating that magic on UC ice for some time.

Patrick Sharp – Sharp dressed man by ZZ top lyrics by / By Joe Michael Hill, Frank L. Beard & William Gibbons.

“Clean shirt, new shoes

And I don’t know where I am goin’ to.
Silk suit,black tie,
I don’t need a reason why.
They come runnin’ just as fast as they can
Coz’ every girl’s crazy ’bout a sharp dressed man.

Gold watch, diamond ring,
I ain’ missin’not a single thing.
And cufflinks, stick pin
When I step out I’m gonna do you in.
They come runnin’ just as fast as they can
Coz’ every girl’s crazy ’bout a sharp dressed man.”

One of the most beautiful people in Chicago and a lady-killer to boot with his chiseled rugged good looks this Hawk is a head turner all right both on and off the ice.  On the ice Sharp turns just as many heads with his propensity for sharpshooting the puck past opposing goalies.  He is also one of the most versatile Hawks playing wing, center and Dman on power plays.  He just is a sharp man period.

Brent Seabrook – I need a hero by Bonnie Tyler – lyrics by Jim Steinman and Dean Pitchford,

“Where have all the good men gone and where are all the gods?
Where’s the great white Hercules to fight the rising odds?
Isn’t there a white knight upon a fiery steed?
Late at night I toss and I turn and I dream of what i need

I need a hero
I’m holding out for a hero till the end of the night
he’s gotta be strong and he’s gotta be fast
and gotta be fresh from the fight
I need a hero
I’m holding out for a hero till the morning light
He’s gotta be sure and he’s gotta be soon
And he’s gotta be larger than life
Larger than life ”

If ever the words tall, dark and handsome applied it is here with Mr. Seabrook and a nice guy and one heck of a hockey player all wrapped up in one package.  He is a throwback to the days when men were men which is why Bonnie Tyler’s version set in the wild western days seems appropriate since Mr. Seabrook hails from the western part of Canada.  Instead of a six shooter in his holster though he pack one powerful slapshot from the point & not afraid to mix it up he may even be more handsome when he is fresh from the fight and those luscious locks are tossed about.

Duncan Keith – 60 minute man by Bill Ward and his Dominos lyrics by Billy Ward and Rose Marks

“Look a here girls I’m telling you now
They call me “Lovin’ Dan”
I rock ’em, roll ’em all night long
I’m a sixty-minute man

If you don’t believe I’mm all that I say
Come up and take my hand
When I let you go you’ll cry “Oh yes,”
“He’s a sixty-minute man”

I went old school here since Keith is a throwback to those old time defensemen. I think we all know that every night the Hawks play Duncan Keith on the ice maybe not 60 minutes but damn close to it.  His stamina has to be his defining attribute & he does keep you rocked and rolled all night long when he is on the ice we know there is a certain standard on the blue line that is maintained.  Last year was not his best but like any good 60 minute man his endurance will prevail and he’ll have a better 2011.

Dave Bolland – Psycho killer by talking heads lyrics by David Byrne, Chris Frantz and Tina Weymouth

“I can’t seem to face up to the facts
I’m tense and nervous and I
Can’t relax
I can’t sleep ’cause my bed’s on fire
Don’t touch me I’m a real live wire

Psycho Killer
Qu’est-ce que c’est
fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa far better
Run run run run run run run away
Psycho Killer
Qu’est-ce que c’est
fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa far better
Run run run run run run run away”

Now there are few sights that Blackhawks fans love more than the “Bolly Death stare”.  When Dave Bolland takes the ice you better have your head on a swivel, he is one of the best forecheckers on the team and a skilled skater too. He can get into your head and screw with your psyche better than any head shrinker.   I have never seen someone more thrilled with taking a good penalty than scoring a goal but that’s our Bolly bitch that we love so well.   He’s our loon and we love him.

Marion Hossa – Your simply the best by Tina Turner lyrics by Mike Chapman and Holly Knight,

“You’re simply the best, better than all the rest
Better than anyone, anyone I’ve ever met
I’m stuck on your heart, I hang on every word you say
Tear us apart no, no, baby, I would rather be dead”

Ah Marion Hossa you are simply the best and now that you are in Chicago we plan on keeping your here.  One of the best all around hockey players in the league.  Big, strong and a great forechecker you are just the best at what you do it’s that simple.

Dan Carcillo- Bad to the bone by George Thorogood lyrics by George Thorogood

“On the day I was born, the nurses all gathered ’round
And they gazed in wide wonder, at the joy they had found
The head nurse spoke up, and she said leave this one alone
She could tell right away, that I was bad to the bone
Bad to the bone
Bad to the bone
B-B-B-B-Bad to the bone
B-B-B-B-Bad
B-B-B-B-Bad
Bad to the bone”

While we have not known Danny Carcillo long in Chicago we all know of him.  Another guy not afraid to mix it up and give his team a lift whenever and wherever needed with a devilish smile and fists flying.  If your not looking for trouble then you better get off the ice when Mr. Carcillo is on it because this bad boy may just want to mix it up with you.

Cory Crawford – My hero by the Foo fighters lyrics by David Grohl

“Don’t the best of them bleed it out
While the rest of them peter out
Truth or consequence, say it aloud
Use that evidence, race it around
There goes my hero
Watch him as he goes
There goes my hero
He’s ordinary”

Cory Crawford has an ordinary guy persona but his performances on the ice are anything but ordinary.  He single-handedly kept his team in the season many many nights when the defense was floundering and without much fan fare.  Chicago here is a true hero who can take the pressure and lift his team if need be now if that is not a hero I don’t know what is.

Niklas  Hjalmarrsson – Sledgehammer by Peter Gabriel lyrics by Peter Gabriel

“I want to be your sledgehammer
Why don’t you call my name
You’d better call the sledgehammer
Put your mind at rest
I’m gonna be – the sledgehammer
This can be my testimony
I’m your sledgehammer
Let there be no doubt about it”

Nicknamed the “Hammer” this song fits NiK Hjalmarrsson while he is not know for being a fighter a sledgehammer chops away the obstacles and this year with the departure of Brian Campbell the Hawks will need stability on the blue like which Hammer will have to provide.  He will also have to spell Keith and Seabrook and keep that defensive zone secure.  This year Nik will be laying down the hammer at the blue line.

And here hoping we hear that beloved team song Chelsea Dagger often in the 2011 season.

Leave a comment

Filed under Hockey

Leave a Reply

