NHL – My Las Vegas Golden Knights


Chicago, IL — Ok Vegas you are on the clock. In what has to be the most entertaining of things we all get to play NHL GM with an expansion team. Let me just say being GM is not easy. I do not envy George McPhee or coach Gerald Galant.

I quickly pulled this together with not a whole lot of thought or research since the unprotected lists came out this morning and boy I had a hard time as there is several ways you can go.

Surprisingly there were some teams that failed to protect some really good assets I’m looking at you Minnesota, Saint Louis, Florida, Columbus and NY both teams. While others left you with hardly anything to choose from looking at you Edmonton, Arizona & San Jose.

Ok let me just say my list is based on a couple of philosophies. One I can make trades with any team I want and there are so many that need quality goalies or back-ups and defenseman.

two if I was a GM in the Pacific I would definitely not be kind to teams in my division and would not bargain with them. For example it is rumored that Anaheim while leaving Sami Vatanen unprotected a deal was cut with Vegas to not take him.

Hmmm a quality 26yr old NHL D man that I would have to face in my division ah NO ANAHEIM sorry I will take Mr. Vatanen thank you very much for my team. As you can see I would not play nice especially in my division or conference.

So Here is who I would take:

Forwards

Arizona – Alexander Burmistrov C 25 yrs old * RFA

Calgary – Troy Brouwer RW 31 yr old

Colorado – Mikhail Grigorenko C 23 yrs old * UFA

Columbus – William Karlsson C 24 yrs old

Florida – Jonathan Marchessault C 26 yrs old

Montreal – Charles Hudon LW 22 yrs old

Nashville – James Neal RW 29 yrs old

New Jersey – Devante Smith Pelly RW 24 yrs old

NYI – Brock Nelson LW 25 yrs old

NYR – Oscar Lindberg C 25yrs old *RFA

STL – David Perron LW 29 yrs old

San Jose – Barclay Goodrow RW 22 yrs old *RFA

Toronto – Kerby Rychel LW 22 yrs old

Vancouver – Brendan Gaunce C 23 yrs old *RFA

Winnipeg – Marko Dano C/W 22 yrs old

Defenseman

Anaheim – Sami Vatanen   26 yrs old

Chicago – Trevor Van Riemsdyk   25 yrs old

Dallas – Dan Hamhuis  34 yrs old

Detroit – Xavier Ouellet 23 yrs old RFA

Edmonton-  Griffin Reinhart 23 yrs old RFA

Los Angeles –  Brayden McNabb 26 yrs old

Minnesota – Marco Scandella 27 yrs old

Ottawa – Marc Methot 31 yrs old

Tampa – Andre Sustr  26 yrs old RFA

Washington – Karl Alzner 28 yrs old UFA

Goalies

Boston – Malcomb Subban  23 yrs old * RFA

Buffalo – Anders Nilsson  23 yrs old *UFA

Philadelphia – Michael Neuvirth – 29 yrs old

Pittsburgh – Marc Andre Fleury – 32 yrs old

Ok the bolded UFA/RFA are the ones that have contracts expiring now so I would work a deal to extend them if possible. The players in green are definetly on my team and not being traded unless there is some serious pay back for me. The rest are negotiable and would be used as trade bait.

My teams current Cap hit is 10,405,001 under but remember you have to deduct Vadim Shipachyov’s 4.5 mil salary which leaves approx. close to 6 mil left to sign those UFA/RFA’s.

Try TSN’s draft simulator which was updated today with all of the available players. Have fun.  http://www.tsn.ca/nhl/assemble-the-knights/draft-simulator

Of the UFA/RFA’s I would make every effort to sign Grigorenko, Lindberg & Sustr. If I had money left I would seriously try to convince the Russians to either come over or sign.

My first order would be to get Evgeni Dadanov out of the KHL and I would strongly think about Radulov or Kovalchuk . If I could not get any of these I would be looking at Patrick Sharp or Justin Williams as both have Stanley Cup experience.

I love that D with the highlighted players my avg D age is 27 which is perfect.

The forwards have a lot of young talent with Rychel, Marchessault, Hudon, Smith-Pelly ect with some veterans like Brouwer, Perron and Neal.

This was fun and difficult. I’m interested to see what Vegas does and the deals they make and what their final roster looks like.

Welcome to the fun Vegas not that your any stranger to that but looking forward to my Chicago Blackhawks playing you and a trip to Las Vegas is always called for.

Good Luck to you and go burn up that Pacific Division.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Hockey, KHL, NHL

Leave a Reply

